clear
ENTER EMAIL
Please enter your email!
Please use valid email format!
Your email is too long.
clear

Some things are a mystery.
Would you like to sign up?

{{ email }}

Please enter your First Name!
Your First Name is too long.
No special Characters allowed!
Please enter your Last Name!
Your Last Name is too long.
No special Characters allowed!
Please create a password!
Password has to be at least 8 characters
Your Password is too long.
I agree to the Eventcombo Terms & Conditions
Please accept the Eventcombo Terms & Conditions
{{signupError}}
clear

Please enter the password for

{{ email }}

Please enter password!
{{loginError}}
Remember Me
clear

We sent an email to reset your password to

{{ email }}

Please enter password!
Password did not match.
clear

Please create a new password for

{{ email }}

Please create a password!
Password has to be at least 4 characters
Your Password is too long.
Please create a password!
Password has to be at least 4 characters
Your Password is too long.
Passwords did not match, please retype
clear

Congrats, you have a shiny new password!

clear

Congrats, you have successfully Registered!

{{LoadingMessage}}

clear
{{InfoMessage}}
clear

Error

Something went wrong. Please try again later

Sorry!

This event has been cancelled.

{{eventInfo.CheckoutText}} {{eventInfo.CheckoutText}} Pick Seats

Author Event with Rachel Louise Snyder/Women We Buried, Women We Burned

{{selectedVenueName}} Select a different venue? {{venue.VenueName}}

location_on {{selectedVenue.Address}}
schedule {{eventInfo.EventDateTimeInfoString}} Select a different date? {{date.Description}}
{{eventInfo.PriceRange}}
event favorite {{eventInfo.FavoriteCount}} thumb_up {{eventInfo.VoteCount}}
Author Event with Rachel Louise Snyder/Women We Buried, Women We Burned
Join Anderson’s Bookshop for an in-person event and signing line with author Rachel Louise Snyder, to celebrate the release of Women We Buried, Women We Burned, on Thursday, June 1st at 7pm in our Naperville Store. Rachel will give a presentation and answer audience questions. After her talk, she will have a signing line and take photos with attendees if they wish! As an extra treat, Rachel will be joined by singer/songwriters Chris Wicklas and Jimmy Riley who will play a couple of acoustic songs.

This event will be held in our Naperville store location (123 West Jefferson Ave), and pre-registration is required as space is limited.

More about Women We Buried, Women We Burned

From the author of the groundbreaking, award-winning No Visible Bruises, a riveting memoir of survival, self-discovery, and forgiveness sure to captivate readers who loved Tara Westover's Educated and Jeanette Walls' The Glass Castle.


For decades, Rachel Louise Snyder has been a fierce advocate reporting on the darkest social issues that impact women's lives. Women We Buried, Women We Burned is her own story.


Snyder was eight years old when her mother died, and her distraught father thrust the family into an evangelical, cult-like existence halfway across the country. Furiously rebellious, she was expelled from school and home at age 16. Living out of her car and relying on strangers, Rachel found herself masquerading as an adult, talking her way into college, and eventually travelling the globe.


Survival became her reporter's beat. In places like India, Tibet, and Niger, she interviewed those who had been through the unimaginable. In Cambodia, where she lived for six years, she watched a country reckon with the horrors of its own recent history. When she returned to the States with a family of her own, it was with a new perspective on old family wounds, and a chance for healing from the most unexpected place.


A piercing account of Snyder's journey from teenage runaway to reporter on the global epidemic of domestic violence, Women We Buried, Women We Burned is a memoir that embodies the transformative power of resilience.


About the Author
Rachel Louise Snyder is the author of Fugitive Denim, the novel What We’ve Lost is Nothing, and No Visible Bruises, winner of the J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award, the Hillman Prize, and the Helen Bernstein Book Award, and finalist for the NBCC, LA Times Book Prize, and Kirkus Award. Her work has appeared in the New Yorker, the New York Times, Slate, and elsewhere. A 2020-2021 Guggenheim Fellow, Snyder is a Professor of Creative Writing and Journalism at American University. She lives in Washington, DC.

--


An important note about your tickets:

To expedite the check-in process, please have your ticket(s) with the QR code(s) pulled up on your phone or printed out when you come to the event. Please check your confirmation, open the PDF with the ticket/QR code and reprint if needed from the EventCombo website or app.


Please read these COVID protection guidelines carefully:

Anderson’s Bookshop reserves the right to change the format of this event to a virtual one at any time if it becomes necessary. Please be advised that Anderson’s Bookshop assumes no responsibility or liability for any personal injury or other loss you may incur as a result of your decision to attend an event, including the transmission of Covid-19 or related illnesses. We expect that for the protection of everyone, all applicable Covid-related protocols will be followed.  Failure to treat all participants with courtesy and respect may result in your expulsion from the event. 


{{eventInfo.SpeakerLabel}}

{{ key == 'null' ? '' : key}}

{{speaker.FirstName}} {{speaker.LastName}}
{{speaker.JobTitle}}
{{speaker.MemberName}}
{{speaker.Description}}

{{eventInfo.SponsorLabel}}

{{ key == 'null' ? '' : key}}

Frequently Asked Questions

{{faq.Question}} keyboard_arrow_right
View All

{{SocialPostFeed.SocialFeedTitle}}

#{{hashtag}}

replay
Reply
star
Retweet
star
Favorite
delete
Delete
Remove FEED from this event Remove FEED from all events
delete Delete Remove FEED from this event Remove FEED from all events
Refund Policy
Please note that tickets are non-refundable. Once your payment has been submitted, your purchase is final. This includes changes to the status of signed books and instances where you cannot watch or attend an event at the scheduled time.
Anderson's Bookshop

Anderson's Bookshop

{{ i.title }}

{{eventInfo.ScheduleName}}

{{item.Title}}

{{item.StartDate | date:'hh:mm a' }} - {{item.EndDate | date:'hh:mm a'}} {{item.TimeZoneName}}{{item.RoomName}}

{{item.VenueName}}

{{item.Address}}

{{eventInfo.SpeakerLabel}}
{{sp.FirstName+' '}}{{sp.LastName}}
{{sp.JobTitle}}
{{sp.CompanyName}}
View Details

{{eventInfo.TicketsTitle}} ({{eventInfo.RemainingTickets}} remain) Got Code?

Tickets are available for {{selectedVenue.VenueName}} for {{selectedDate.Description}}.
{{venue.VenueName}} {{date.Description}}
done

{{eventInfo.AccessPromoCode}}, code applied successfully.

close
{{ticket.TicketName}}
{{ticket.SourcePriceText}} {{ticket.TypeName}} (+{{ticket.FeeText}} FEE)
{{ticket.VenueName}} {{ticket.StartDateFormatted}} {{ticket.DateInfoString1}}
{{ticket.DateInfoString2}}

{{ticket.TicketDescription}}

This is a members-only ticket! Become a Member
{{item}} event_seat Pick Seats
Sold OUT
{{ticket.SoldQuantity}} Registered {{ticket.RemainingQuantity}} Remaining
{{cartDealMap.dealoff}} {{cartDealMap.dealdetails}}
{{cartDealMap.dealdesbold}} {{cartDealMap.dealdessmall}}
thumb_up {{cartDealMap.dealthumbsup}}
Total: {{eventInfo.TotalPriceText}}

{{eventInfo.SaleCloseMessage}}

Bundle Your Order And Save ?

Buy together and save money! We have exclusive deals to make your event experience more convenient, cheaper and fun.

format_list_bulleted{{Dealbox.Text}} deals list

Teams

Teams are subsets of attendees who collaborate in the event with each other. Each team has its own members. When an event attendee purchases a ticket, they are not automatically added to a team; each attendee must join a specific team within an event.

{{member.BuyerName}}

Event Comments

clear

Share event with friends

Please enter friend's email.
Please use valid email format.
Your email is too long.
Please enter your message.
Your message is too long. Only 255 characters allowed.
clear

Send message to organizer

Please enter your email.
Please use valid email format.
Your email is too long.
Please enter your name.
Your Name is too long.
Please enter your message.
Your message is too long. Only 255 characters allowed.

{{LoadingMessage}}

clear
{{InfoMessage}}
clear

This is a members only event. If you are a new member, you will automatically be able to view this event if you are logged in.

clear

This is a private event, please enter event password

Please enter password!
{{privateLoginError}}
clear
Do you want to cancel your reserved ticket(s)?